Nominations open for ABG By-elections

NOMINATIONS for the 2018 ABG By-Elections will commence tomorrow (Monday 230918).

This follows the issue of writs for the by-elections by the Speaker of the Bougainville House of Representatives, Mr Simon Pentanu on Friday afternoon.

Constituencies that will be having their elections include Halia and Taonita Teop constituencies in North Bougainville and Kongara constituency in the Kieta district of Central Bougainville.

According to the Bougainville Electoral Commissioner Mr George Manu, nominations will take place from the 24-26 of September 2018.

“During the first two days, 24th and 25th September, AROs will be accepting nominations in their respective districts. For Halia constituency, nominations will take place at the OBEC office in Buka. Nominations for Taonita Teop will take place at Tinputz district office while the ARO for Kongara will be accepting nominations at the OBEC Central Regional Coordination Office in Arawa,” said Mr Manu.

“Then on the final day, 26th September, nominations will take place at the OBEC Head Office in Buka. This means that candidates that have yet to nominate for the seats of Taonita Teop and Kongara will now have to travel to Buka to lodge their nominations for candidacy.   

The Bougainville Electoral Commissioner further added that intending candidates will have to pay a nomination fee of K500 when lodging their nominations for candidacy.

The Taonita Teop constituency seat had become vacant following the demise of member, late Raopos Apou Tepaia in 2016, whilst the members for the other two seats had resigned early last year to contest the 2017 National Elections.