Twenty six candidates nominate in the 2018 ABG By-Elections

NOMINATIONS for the 2018 ABG By-Elections ended this afternoon (Wednesday 260918) with a total of 26 candidates having nominated to contest the respective vacant constituency seats of Halia, Taonita Teop and Kongara seats in the Bougainville House of Representatives.

From this total, Halia constituency in Buka district has the highest with 17 candidates having nominated, followed by Taonita Teop in the Tinputz district with six while Kongara constituency in the Kieta district of Central Bougainville has the lowest with three candidates contesting.

The candidates for the Halia constituency seat are Bordger Semoso, Chan Kurangik Sagolo, Christopher Kabobo, Garhey Rikaha, Barbara Tanne, Gordon Batek, Leo Soli, William Kaluwin, Gerard Lesi, Ephraim Hakelo, Desmond Nilkare, Alphonse Ratsi, Mech Robin, Barnabas Matanu, Osmond Pesa Tohiana, Joel Korus and Robert Somi Habitein.

For the Taonita Teop constituency seat, the confirm list of candidates include Joseph Pais, Albert Toro, Micah Mose, Naphtali Pango, Leslie Sorou and Jarvin Tagasi.

The three candidates for the Kongara constituency seat are Steven Topesi, Rauaku Karoai and Danny Muntaa.

Meanwhile, the order of draw for the candidates will be held shortly this afternoon at the Bel Isi Park in Buka town.

The order of draw will determine the appearances of the respective candidates on the ballot paper for each constituency seat elections.