261018 ABG By-Election Count Ends

THE counting of ballots for the 2018 ABG By-Elections has been completed.

According to Returning Officer, Ian Job, counting started on Monday this week and ended in the early hours of Wednesday morning with the declaration of the member-elect for Halia constituency in Buka, North Bougainville.

“I am pleased to announce that we have successfully conducted and completed counting of ballots at the Hutjena secondary school hall,” said Mr Job.

Halia constituency is one of the three constituencies that took part in these by-elections.

The others are Taonita Teop constituency in Tinputz district and Kongara constituency in the Kieta district of Central Bougainville.   

The Halia constituency seat was won by candidate Gordon Batek.

Mr Batek was declared after the fifteenth exclusive, beating sixteen other candidates that also took part in the election.

In the race for the Taonita Teop constituency seat, renown PNG film producer Albert Toro was declared member-elect ahead of five other candidates that also contested.    

The Kongara constituency seat was won by Steven Topesi.

Meanwhile, RO Ian Job has commended all candidates and their scrutineers as well as the general public for ensuring that no troubles occurred that could have affected the count.

He said this shows that people are slowly beginning to trust our electoral processes, before adding that this should also be maintained in any other electoral event that will be held in Bougainville in the near future.